Several spammers have been using our domain name and various email addresses making their messages appear to have been sent by us. Our policy is to never send an email to anyone who has not written to us first. We will never write to our website visitors unless they have written to us directly asking for information. Occasionally we will write to those who have posted a job listing on our employment pages. We are not associated with any group dealing with online surveys, online pharmacies, online mortgages or the various and sundry other email spammers. If you receive such a message purportedly from us, please feel free to forward it to us for vigorous prosecution of the offender. Please be sure to include the message's complete header information.
Our spam/spoof/UCE/UBE policy | U.S. CAN-SPAM Act (pdf file)
How to combat spam | Spam tracking info | SpamCop.net
What happened to a spammer who used our name
We reserve the right to prosecute email spammers/spoofers to the fullest extent the law allows.
Notice is hereby given that email addresses may not be harvested, gathered or otherwise acquired
from this web site for the purpose of sending any form of commercial email, solicited or unsolicited.
Please note: We are located in Florida while our email and web servers are in California, therefore
any mail sent to us is, by default, interstate communication and subject to both Federal and State laws.
Our Policy On UCE/UBE/SPAM/SPOOF Email
"Agreement by Action"
We appreciate all personal email communications sent to us. We look forward to hearing from our website visitors and answering their questions about our services. However, we have strong negative feelings regarding unsolicited commercial/bulk email (UCE/UBE) and are dilligently committed to fighting against such email transmissions. UCE/UBE is considered by us to be "spam". We will vigorously prosecue offenders to the fullest extent the laws allow.
We will also vigorously defend ourself against those using our name as the sending address of their email, sometimes referred to as "spoofing".
Those sending us unsolicited bulk and/or commercial email or sending email purporting to be from us through the use of our domain names and/or email addresses constitute the sender's acceptance of the following terms:
- For each message sent to us which we open and/or trace and/or report and/or delete you agree to pay us the sum of $500 US.
- For each message sent by you using our domain name and/or email address as the sending/return email address (sometimes referred to as "spoofing") you agree to pay us the sum of $1,000 US.
- For each message sent by you using our domain name and/or email address as the sending/return email address (sometimes referred to as "spoofing") which is returned to us for any reason you agree to pay us the sum of $5,000 US.
- For any message sent to us that fails to fully comply in any way with, or which in any way violates one or more of the following laws, including but not limited to, spoofing, obfuscation and false claims of subscription, you agree to pay us the sum of $1,000 US.
- the US CAN-Spam Act of 2003 (effective date January1, 2004)
- the UK Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003
- the Canadian Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (Revised 1st Jan 2004)
- You agree to pay all claims within 30 calendar days, via certified mail in the form of a cashier's check.
- You agree to accept liability for any and all recovery costs incurred, including but not limited to, court costs, lawyers and legal fees, and debt recovery agents.
- You agree to pay interest at the annual rate of 18% for all outstanding amounts, should recovery be necessary.
- This agreement encompasses any subsequent domains and/or businesses you may create and/or register and any "partner" or "affilitiate" you are shown to use or pass our details to.
This is how we handled the last spammer who used our name:
Globalmarketing2000.biz Fraudulently
& Illegally Using Our Domain Name!
(February 27, 2004) -- A company operating through "www.globalmarketing2000.biz" has been using our domain name as the return address for their email campaign soliciting people to participate in online surveys. We are NOT associated with these people and they do not have permission to use our name. Obviously, we are not sending the messages. We have visited their website in an effort to contact them. None of their email links work. A Network Solutions "WHOIS" for their domain name found a listing for:
Globalmarketing, 45 Failkeirk Road, Liverpool, 41123, Great Britain (UK)
Phone: +44.870760641 Email: smwalter@globalmarketing2000.biz
The contact email address is non-operational, the "zipcode" is not in British format, and the street address, in fact the street itself, does not exist in Liverpool. The owner of the server the website resides on is "GLOBALTHENET.BIZ" and is TUCOWS "WHOIS" registered to:
Jose Silva, 2120 NW 21st Ave., Oakland Park, FL 33309
Phone Number: 954.774.7277 Email: earthnet7@hotmail.com
The address exists, but the phone number is "not in service" and the contact email address is undeliverable.
We have sent complaint messages to the Federal Trade Commission, the FBI's IFCC, the British Information Commissioner, Scotland Yard's NHTCU, ICANN, ARIN.net and others asking for assistance. In the interim, we apologize for their use of our name in what is apparently a scam. We continue in our attempts to track these people in an effort to stop their email and their illegal and fraudulent use of our domain name.
UPDATE: (March 2, 2004) -- We have found and written to the company which handles subscription payments for Globalmarketing2000. They are eztopay.com and can be reached at support@eztopay.com. Globalmarketing2000.biz is known to eztopay as SellerId=1005, SellerDescription=Online Surveys. If you complain about the emails to their payment handler, Globalmarketing2000.biz might get the message if they are hit in the pocketbook.
UPDATE: (March 5, 2004) -- We received an email from domainpeople.com, the registering company for globalmarketing2000.com's domain name. Daniel Balkaran, Customer Service and Technical Support Manager, wrote:
"We investigated the invalid whois record complaints for globalmarketing2000.biz according to ICANN policy and have placed it in a state of hold at the registry.
"Thank you and let me know if you have any questions."
So, if you click a link for www.globalmarketing2000.biz, you get a "The page cannot be displayed" notice. That domain and website are shut down. The moral of the story is that you can fight the spammers and the spoofers and it is possible to win. It took a few days, some research and some persistence. It took a couple of phone calls and quite a few emails, but it worked. End result: the people who used our domain name in their spam email campaign are closed and we're happy they are.